Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is mandatory for all schools and covers the development of children and their learning from birth to the end of the academic year in which a child has their fifth birthday.
There are four themes in the EYFS which express important principles underpinning effective practice in the care, development and learning of young children. The four themes are;

• A Unique Child
• Positive Relationships
• Enabling Environments
• Learning and Development

Our EYFS plans at Everton Heath Primary School outlines how we put the principles and commitments of the EYFS into practice in our setting and is used alongside policies and procedures that underpin statutory welfare requirements.

This booklet helps parents understand each stage of the Foundation Stage.

What to expect, when?

KS1 and KS2

Curriculum Booklets and Overviews for our other year groups are shown below. Click on the relevant image.

 Current Curriculum Outlines ( Termly )  can be found for each class by visiting 'Class Pages' under Parents Information.

Year 1

Curriculum Booklet



Curriculum Overview Year 1/ 2  A


Year 2

Curriculum Booklet



Curriculum Overview Year 1/2  B


Year 3

Curriculum Booklet


Curriculum Overview Year 3/4  A


Year 4

Curriculum Booklet

Curriculum Overview Year 3/4  B



                                                 Year 5

                           Curriculum Overview Year 5/6  A


                            Year 5/6 Year A Long Term Grid

                                                      Year 6

                              Curriculum  Overview  Year 5/6  B


                                  Year 5/6 Year B Long Term Grid 

                                                                                    NB : Year 5/6 ( First pupils joined September 2017 )


Phonics at Everton Heath Primary School

We teach phonics using the Soundswrite programme. Please find more details using the link below;


Reading at Everton Heath Primary School  - Oxford Reading Tree

We use a range of reading books for the whole school including some from Oxford Reading Tree -a reading programme that has taught millions of children to read. With systematic phonics at its heart, Oxford Reading Tree's well-loved characters give children everything they need to become confident and motivated readers.


Religious Education at Everton Heath Primary School

We follow the RE Agreed Syllabus for Bedford Borough, Central Bedfordshire and Luton 2012-2017. This Agreed Syllabus is the legal basis for RE in each of these areas. 

The Agreed Syllabus has two broad attainment targets;

  • (AT1) Learning about religion - Pupils should acquire knowledge about and understanding of religions and beliefs.
  • (AT2) Learning from religion - Pupils should be enabled to reflect on and respond to their study of religions and beliefs. 

In the Reception Year of the Early Years Foundation Stage links are made to the Early Years National Curriculum. 


Coming soon....EHPS Long Term RE Plan using the Agreed Syllabus......


National Curriculum

We teach the 2014 National Curriculum for all subjects and parents can find out more information regarding the detail of the curriculum by clicking on the link below;


Should parents or other members of the public wish to find out more about Everton Heath Primary School's curriculum please contact the school office on 01767 680534 or email